Computer/Internet related subjects

Use this area for general discussion of all things non-music related, including TV, film, news, sport etc

Postby RobC » Sat May 23, 2009 5:14 pm

Stig Olsen wrote:
RobC wrote:................mmmm a porn downloader ;)

crikey...didn't thought about that!!! great thinking, Rob! ;)

yup , ArmadillosInLatexSuits.com here I come :D
* *
RobC
Member
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 5:00 pm

Postby Stig Olsen » Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:00 pm

Just got myself a brand new working horse of a PC. It's on the Windows 7 platform running in 64-bit mode. As I have two identical computers (one home, one at work) it took me nearly two weeks tweaking them with drivers etc., but NOW it all works perfectly, and I'm a happy bunny.....

...especially since I also got a decent internet solution at home:

Image

:D
□□□ http://www.humanleague.dk □□□
User avatar
Stig Olsen
Member
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 3:04 pm
Location: Denmark

Postby One Man » Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:31 pm

.....Ooooohhhhhh Viennaaaaaaaaa (this means nothing to me).

Just tested my speed - always wanted to know how to do that. Thanks Stiggy Boy!
9/10
One Man
Member
 
Posts: 1218
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 3:05 pm
Location: London

Postby cs15 » Thu Oct 15, 2009 12:17 pm

Does anyone know a safe site to download 'spybot' from?
If you were a diamond, I wouldn't want you now.
User avatar
cs15
Member
 
Posts: 3932
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 3:16 pm

Postby Stig Olsen » Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:56 pm

Proxy IP adress (or how to watch media stuff drowned in BBC legal crap talk):

It's easy, but you have to configure your browser to use a specific UK based IP adress - you can pay for it, or you can Google to find them. Problem is; they often change/close. I found one on the list below.

http://www.proxy4free.com/page1.html

Now you have to follow the list below depending on your browser:

Explorer:
1.) Open Internet Explorer
2.) Click on Tools>Internet Options
3.) Click the connections tab
4.) Click on Lan Settings
5.) Check the box that says "Use a proxy server for your LAN
6.) Now type the ip address you found on the list
7.) Type in the port adress also
8.) Click Ok, then click ok again
9.) Close your browser
10.) Open your browser and go to i.e. the BBC site.

Firefox:
1.) Run FireFox
2.) Click Tools - Options
3.) Click Advanced
4.) Click Network
5.) Click Settings
6.) Click Manual Proxy Configuration
7.) Enter ip address and port #
8.) Click use this proxy server for all protocols
9.) Click OK
10.) Click OK again
11.) Shut Fire Fox down
12.) Restart Fire Fox

Enjoy! :D

(When done, unclick the proxybox, and you're back to normal settings).
□□□ http://www.humanleague.dk □□□
User avatar
Stig Olsen
Member
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 3:04 pm
Location: Denmark

Postby crowbaby » Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:08 pm

STIG! Legend! :D cheers for that
We'll always be together...however far it seems...
User avatar
crowbaby
Member
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 5:29 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Postby One Man » Sun Oct 18, 2009 2:27 pm

Great - I can now watch all those lads shows from the USA. You know, Desperate Housewives, Ugly Betty, Gossip Girl etc etc.
9/10
One Man
Member
 
Posts: 1218
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 3:05 pm
Location: London

Postby SubHuman » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:12 pm

Is anyone going to try updating to Windows 7? If they do can they please let the rest of us know how they got on.

Reviewers who have tried suggest the clean upgrade where you remove Vista or XP completely and then install Windows 7. Having back up of course.
SubHuman
Member
 
Posts: 3476
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 9:48 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Postby Stig Olsen » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:57 pm

Pretty easy to suggest a clean upgrade as the best - isn't that always the case? But perhaps they mean that if you want to run in 64 bit mode, you can't upgrade directly from a 32 bit environment - you need a custom install, where you completely wipe out the old operating system.

Anyway, depending on how new your computer is, I would either stick to XP, or upgrade ASAP if you're on Vista.

Windows 7 is so cool and stable. And if you can, install it in 64 bit mode (newer pc with a 64 bit capable CPU). It will run older 32 bit applications virtually, and so far I haven't had any problems. The only issues I've had, was finding drivers....but that was before it was officially released - and there are work-arounds.

Oh, and be sure to choose the right version for your needs:

Windows 7 Starter (limited to three apps concurrently)
Windows 7 Home Basic (for emerging markets)
Windows 7 Home Premium (adds Aero, Touch, Media Center)
Windows 7 Professional (Remote Desktop host, Mobility Center, Presentation mode)
Windows 7 Enterprise (volume license only, boot from virtual drive, BitLocker)
Windows 7 Ultimate (limited availability, includes everything)
□□□ http://www.humanleague.dk □□□
User avatar
Stig Olsen
Member
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 3:04 pm
Location: Denmark

Postby cs15 » Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:15 am

Stig will you be posting that in English too?
If you were a diamond, I wouldn't want you now.
User avatar
cs15
Member
 
Posts: 3932
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 3:16 pm

Postby Stig Olsen » Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:51 am

cs15 wrote:Stig will you be posting that in English too?

Sure:

Stig Olsen wrote:Pretty easy to suggest a clean upgrade as the best - isn't that always the case? But perhaps they mean that if you want to run in 64 bit mode, you can't upgrade directly from a 32 bit environment - you need a custom install, where you completely wipe out the old operating system.

Anyway, depending on how new your computer is, I would either stick to XP, or upgrade ASAP if you're on Vista.

Windows 7 is so cool and stable. And if you can, install it in 64 bit mode (newer pc with a 64 bit capable CPU). It will run older 32 bit applications virtually, and so far I haven't had any problems. The only issues I've had, was finding drivers....but that was before it was officially released - and there are work-arounds.

Oh, and be sure to choose the right version for your needs:

Windows 7 Starter (limited to three apps concurrently)
Windows 7 Home Basic (for emerging markets)
Windows 7 Home Premium (adds Aero, Touch, Media Center)
Windows 7 Professional (Remote Desktop host, Mobility Center, Presentation mode)
Windows 7 Enterprise (volume license only, boot from virtual drive, BitLocker)
Windows 7 Ultimate (limited availability, includes everything)

...so basically - seeing your computer's biggest task is to squeeze Boy George photos out on your display, however tragic it may be, you don't need to upgrade, Patric! ;)
□□□ http://www.humanleague.dk □□□
User avatar
Stig Olsen
Member
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 3:04 pm
Location: Denmark

Postby cs15 » Sat Oct 24, 2009 10:45 am

Phew! Thanks. :)
If you were a diamond, I wouldn't want you now.
User avatar
cs15
Member
 
Posts: 3932
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 3:16 pm

Postby ToyotaCityBoy » Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:15 am

Stig Olsen wrote:Proxy IP adress (or how to watch media stuff drowned in BBC legal crap talk):

It's easy, but you have to configure your browser to use a specific UK based IP adress - you can pay for it, or you can Google to find them. Problem is; they often change/close. I found one on the list below.

http://www.proxy4free.com/page1.html

Now you have to follow the list below depending on your browser:

Explorer:
1.) Open Internet Explorer
2.) Click on Tools>Internet Options
3.) Click the connections tab
4.) Click on Lan Settings
5.) Check the box that says "Use a proxy server for your LAN
6.) Now type the ip address you found on the list
7.) Type in the port adress also
8.) Click Ok, then click ok again
9.) Close your browser
10.) Open your browser and go to i.e. the BBC site.

Firefox:
1.) Run FireFox
2.) Click Tools - Options
3.) Click Advanced
4.) Click Network
5.) Click Settings
6.) Click Manual Proxy Configuration
7.) Enter ip address and port #
8.) Click use this proxy server for all protocols
9.) Click OK
10.) Click OK again
11.) Shut Fire Fox down
12.) Restart Fire Fox

Enjoy! :D

(When done, unclick the proxybox, and you're back to normal settings).

Since the link above has died, I looked up another UK proxy on http://www.freewebproxylist.com/ and then followed all the Firefox instructions except the Port number... and this didn't let me watch something on Channel4.com. So I probably do need a Port number other than 0, but I've no idea which number to use. Anyone know?? I'd really like to see the new season of Peep Show before they take it offline at the end of the week and I've left it a bit late... :/
ToyotaCityBoy
Member
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 4:49 pm
Location: Michigan, USA (via England)

Postby cs15 » Tue Jun 22, 2010 10:05 pm

The iPad. What do we think? They are released here in July and I'm looking at the possibility of getting one. Does anyone here have one? Drawbacks? Positives?
If you were a diamond, I wouldn't want you now.
User avatar
cs15
Member
 
Posts: 3932
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 3:16 pm

Postby Kevin Caywood » Tue Jun 22, 2010 10:23 pm

I don't have one, but see them in stores. Only thing for me (also like the iPhone) it doesn't support flash. Some website graphics don't come through. There's a new app in prototype stage called called Cloudbrowsing. It works but since it's only in demo stage, your time was limited on using it. Videos on YouTube came across choppy. The stream wasn't smooth. If it wasn't for the flash situation, I'd give it a 10, but would settle now as 9.5.
Kevin Caywood
Member
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:25 pm
Location: New Orleans USA

Postby cs15 » Tue Jun 22, 2010 11:07 pm

Yeah I've heard about problems with Flash. I was watching some Youtube clips on a borrowed one the other day and thought it was pretty good. The fact that you can't run multiple applications on it is another concern but most people seem very happy with it.
If you were a diamond, I wouldn't want you now.
User avatar
cs15
Member
 
Posts: 3932
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 3:16 pm

Postby Kevin Caywood » Tue Jun 22, 2010 11:13 pm

True most videos on YouTube you can watch. But the videos provided by the industry are supported by flash. (Example THL DYWM from emi) Which leaves you having to watch it while in a flash supported app mode. Those come across choppy.
Kevin Caywood
Member
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:25 pm
Location: New Orleans USA

Postby crowbaby » Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:25 am

Ok..my latest unexplained problem!!
Last night when I switched my PC on, all went ok til it got to the desktop then just freezes on my desktop photo, no icons, no start button, no toolbar....can't get past it! Any ideas (apart from "get a Mac") ? I can get into safe mode but can't run my XP disk. Tried running explorer from the task manager but it only puts it into my task list but doesn't start...as you can tell I really have no idea what I am doing lol but any help will be appreciated :)
Mind you, my desktop pic is a really great live HL pic I took in Aust last year, but I like my PC to work! ;)
We'll always be together...however far it seems...
User avatar
crowbaby
Member
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 5:29 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Postby Prof Luni » Thu Sep 30, 2010 7:48 pm

Ii took the plunge a couple of weeks ago with an iPad. Not paid for by me but out fo some money I had at work (long story) - so i opted for the top notch WiFi and 3G model

So far, I am totally loving it. Fantastic for mu;liple synchronised calendars, contacts, emails etc., which combined with being able to read books, PDFs and Microsoft documents on the go (using a suitable app you can also edit Word, XL, Power Points etc and sync the edited evrsions with one's PC) I am totally loving it.

Obviously I am mainly interested in it for education purposes and it delivers video, audio, text etc beautifully. The apps work very well on the bigger screen. Haven't missed the USB connection - just sync things in, or open in an App.

Have only come across a couple of instaces of the Flash issue but that wasn't really a big thing for me.

I believe the next downloadable upgrade in Niovember will facilitate running multiple applications.

As you can tell I am a convert! My friends think it is my substitute boyfreind or something as I seem unable to be separated from it! :D
Prof Luni
Member
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 2:07 am

Postby Boiled Being » Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:11 pm

@ Karen.
Sounds like the boot files may be corrupted.
Try starting up with the XP CD in and see if it will boot off that.
If it does, do a system restore - from the start menu, programs/accessories/system tools/system restore, then follow the instructions.

If it won't boot from CD, you'll have to change the order in the BIOS to make the CD the first option.
It's ages since I've done this myself, so I'll have to have a go myself then I'll post again.
Last edited by Boiled Being on Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JAM! . . . . You've gotta get some!
User avatar
Boiled Being
Member
 
Posts: 712
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: The Post-industrial Shithole

Postby Stig Olsen » Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:53 pm

Yeah, agree with BB, Karen - a system restore from a given date is much to prefer - done that quite a few times.....well, when I used XP.

Luni, congrats with your iPad! Can't really understand why people buy it, but I guess it's the good old "design vs. features" debate.

I just got a HTC Desire - best damn thing I ever held in my hand. <insert joke here> ;) :D
□□□ http://www.humanleague.dk □□□
User avatar
Stig Olsen
Member
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 3:04 pm
Location: Denmark

Postby crowbaby » Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:30 pm

Congrats on the Desire, there are a few of us with them, you won't regret not being an iphone owner ;)
Oh and a few times of to-ing and fro-ing this morning trying to get into safe mode properly to be able to use the net....well it wouldn't work, so I went into task manager and processes list, changed the explorer.exe priority to "high" and lo and behold I restarted for the 15th time and it worked! Does that sound feasible as a fix? Well I don't care as long as it worked :) But yes I think I really need to wipe this PC and start from scratch ...
We'll always be together...however far it seems...
User avatar
crowbaby
Member
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 5:29 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Postby Prof Luni » Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:16 pm

To be fair to the iPad, my interest is mainly in how things can be delivered in certain higher educational contexts (e.g. teaching and learning via video, audio, e-books, apps, iTunesU, and various blends thereof etc). In that context, no other device comes close at the moment. I am sure that will all change within 12 months with Android based 'pads' and the Blackberry playBook or whatever it is called, but at the moment, the iPad is miles ahead for that particular purpose.

As for the rest of what you lot are taldiscussing, I have no idea what you are babbling on about :D
Prof Luni
Member
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 2:07 am

Postby Afront » Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:31 pm

Stig Olsen wrote:I just got a HTC Desire

Good man Stig! Here's my Top 10 recommended Android apps:

http://pansentient.com/2010/09/top-10-essential-android-apps/
User avatar
Afront
Member
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 6:23 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Postby crowbaby » Fri Oct 01, 2010 9:00 am

Update:
Gone back to my blank desktop....hmmmm :(
Not sure why or how it worked this morning!!
We'll always be together...however far it seems...
User avatar
crowbaby
Member
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 5:29 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PreviousNext

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest